Your new design will be uploaded in:
...
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.
X

Cotham Gardens Primary School

A Co-operative Academy

Why review the school name now?

Because it has come up for review on the school governors' agenda:

Sept 2012 - Academy conversion confirmed, new site development for infants agreed, school name review discussed and agreed to keep for time being in context of children learning about Colston and slavery via the curriculum

June 2015 - Elmgrove up and running, school name discussed briefly in response to a staff governor request and dissatisfaction with the name. Agreement made to continue reviewing and monitoring name and curriculum relationship

July 2015 - Staff Governor raises the topic of the school name and it is agreed to look into reviewing the school curriculum and a consultation over the school name

Dec 2016 - Maddy Kent, Headteacher leaves

Jan 2016 - Alex Bell, new Headteacher arrives

2016-17 - A review of the school’s vision and values undertaken by the governors and 5th anniversary of the school's co-op status celebrated

May 2017 - The Co-op Forum formally request governors consider a consultation over the school name

May 2017 - Governors consider this request in the context of its overall agenda, and agreed to run a consultation with the school community over its name

September 2017 - beginning of a year of 70th birthday celebration events for our school

Confirming the school name will be the final touch to re-affirming our school identity further to:

  • co-operative academisation in 2012
  • expanding the school in 2015
  • revisiting and consulting over our vision and values resulting in a revised school vision statement 2016-17 (to be published on 11th July 2017)

Our school will be celebrating its 70th anniversary during 2017-18 and we want to be clear about our name and how it fits with our identity at 70.

Identity issues under review:

  • Are current names working for the new split site - Colston’s Primary School: Cotham Grove and Elmgrove Sites?
  • Confusion over connections with other schools named after Colston (Colston’s Girls’ School, Colston’s Independent School)
  • Edward Colston - how best to integrate into our school identity, history and values?

 

School name review: a consultation

How can I find out more to inform my view?

Consultation Events

How can I make my view known?

The story so far ...

school name consultation survey